GHSA was launched in February 2014. Since then, membership in GHSA has grown to include over 50 countries, each committed to leading or contributing to one or more Action Packages. GHSA is coordinated by a multilateral Steering Group of 10 countries: Canada, Chile, Finland, India, Indonesia, Italy, Kenya, Kingdom of Saudi Arabia, Republic of Korea, and the United States. WHO, FAO, OIE, and other international organizations serve as advisors to this Steering Group.

Photograph of a group of nurses


GHSA is a forum that enables a country or organization to actively engage with other committed partners around the globe to develop and implement mechanisms to build and sustain health security capacity in all countries. Members contribute and benefit from the tools, lessons learned, networks, and other resources that this multi-stakeholder coalition brings together, as it works toward common goals that align with those of other global health security efforts.

GHSA membership may include any country or non-governmental stakeholder (e.g., international organization, financial institution, regional organization) that is willing to take action to support GHSA’s vision of a world safe and secure from global health threats posed by infectious diseases, whether natural, deliberate, or accidental.

Countries interested in joining are encouraged to send in the following Expression of Interest form [DOCX, 31KB] to the GHSA Steering Group Chair.

In response to a formal request to join GHSA, the Chair will ensure the request is complete and submit it to the full Steering Group for review and consideration. 

If you are a representative of a non-governmental stakeholder organisation and interested in joining GHSA, please contact the GHSA 2024 Steering Group Chair for more information. 

A complete list of GHSA members can be found below.


  • Afghanistan
  • Argentina
  • Australia
  • Azerbaijan
  • Bangladesh
  • Burkina Faso
  • Cameroon
  • Canada
  • Chile
  • China
  • Colombia
  • Côte d'Ivoire
  • Democratic Republic of Congo
  • Denmark
  • Ethiopia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Georgia
  • Germany
  • Ghana
  • Guinea
  • Guinea-Bissau
  • Haiti
  • India
  • Indonesia
  • Israel
  • Italy
  • Japan
  • Jordan
  • Kenya
  • Lao People's Democratic Republic
  • Liberia
  • Malawi
  • Malaysia
  • Mali
  • Mexico
  • Mongolia
  • Netherlands
  • Nigeria
  • Norway
  • Pakistan
  • Peru
  • Philippines
  • Portugal
  • Republic of the Congo
  • Republic of Korea
  • Rwanda
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Senegal
  • Sierra Leone
  • Singapore
  • South Africa
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • Thailand
  • Togo
  • Turkey
  • Uganda
  • Ukraine
  • United Arab Emirates
  • United Kingdom
  • United Republic of Tanzania
  • United States of America
  • Viet Nam
  • Yemen
  • Zimbabwe

*Countries updated as of 26 March 2019